Metros take fifth in state tourney

AMES, Iowa — The Sioux City Metros took fifth place in the Iowa High School Hockey League Tournament with a 7-3 victory over Mason City at Cyclone Area Community Center here Saturday.

Ames downed Waterloo Public 7-4 to win the state championship. Third place went to West Des Moines Valley-Dowling, which defeated Urbandale 7-0.

The Metros were led by Chris Swanson, who recorded a natural hat trick.

Swanson's three consecutive goals came at 9:07 of the first period and 2:26 and 6:29 of the second period.

Five of the seven goals scored by Sioux City were on power plays.

Mason City started every period with the first goal. Mark Montang tallied in the first period at 2:21, and Troy Thelen at :49 of the second period, and then Jim Lloyd at 5:27 of the third period.

The Metros' other goals were by were Chad McCormick, Tom O'Brien, Todd Coyle, and Mark Graber.

Sioux City goalie Scott Patrick, defenseman Mike Swartzel and forward Rob Casper were picked for all-state honors. Forwards Brian Burke and Steve Nichol were picked for honorable mention.

The Metros finish the season at 14-14.

Summary

First period: 1, Mason City — Mark Montang (Todd Thoreson, Jon Chamberlin) 2:21. 2, Sloux City — Chris Swanson (Steve Nichol, Mike Swartzei) 6:07. Penalites: Casper, SC, 6:48; Chamberlin, MC, 6:12; Burke, SC, 12:39.

Second period: 3, Mason City — Troy Thelen (Chris Steward, Dirk Courrier): 48, 4, Sloux City — Swanson (Mark Graber, Rob Casper): 226, 5, Sloux City — Swanson (Brian Burke) 6:22, 6, Sloux City — Chad McCormick (Swartzel) 10:32, 7, Sloux City — Cmo O'Brien (Mike Scott) 10:59. Penaltiles: Stell, MC, 1:39; Kleven, MC, 4:41; O'Brien, SC, 7:57; Steward, MC, 8:54; Stell, MC, 12:13.

1.38; Kleven, MC, 441, D Binn, 647, Hold Matt, MC, 8:54; Steil, MC, 2:13. Third period: 8, Mason City — Jim Lloyd (Matt, Casper) 10:52. 10, Sloux City — Graber (Burke, Coyle) 13:10. Penalties: O'Brien, SC, 3:38; Casper, SC, 4:04; Schmith, SC, 5:38; Kleven, MC, 6:39; Swarzzel, SC, 7:16; Theten, SC, 8:28; O'Brien, SO, 10:52; Chamberlin, MC, 10:32; McCormick, SC, 14:06.

Score by periods:	1.00	Ann Parlan	
Sioux City1	4	2-7	ŀ
Mason City 1	1	1-3	
Shots on goal:		2.4	
Sioux City	14	6-31	1
Mason City 5	9	8 -22	ł
Goalies - Scott Patrick, Sioux City;	Jeff	Curtis,	
Mason City.		12,15,0	ł
Diana Kaumanan lai	1	and a state	

Referees — Steve Kaymeyer, Jeff Marshall, Linesman: Dean Mitchell.

ALL STATE TEAM

Goalies: Scott Geiger (West Des Moines Valley-Dowling), Matt Haws (Urbandale), Scott Patrick (Sioux City).

Defense: Don Erbach (Ames), Dan Michelson, (Waterioo Public), George Pappajohn (Mason City), Damon Punsalin (Urbandale), John Russo (Ames), Mike Swartzel (Sloux City).

Forwards: Brian Carnes (Waterloo Public), Rob Casper (Sloux City), Chris Dolan (Waterloo Columbus), Marc Gillard (Waterloo Public), Scott Johnston (Ames), John Newell (Ames), Bill Norris (Ames), Eric Runge (Waterloo Public), Steve Tunks (Urbandale).